logo mail   mail  (651) 217-8116
A 501 (c)(3) nonprofit committed to ‘saving the law’
Description and Holding Information
1777- , Delaware, State, Journals of the Council/Senate (MS & print)
Journal of the Council/Senate of Delaware, 1777-, Dover, var. official printers, 1777-. (The name “Delaware” was first given to the river of that
name and its bay on the Atlantic. It was derived from the honorific of Thomas West, 3rd Baron De La Ware, an English nobleman and Virginia’s first
colonial governor. The territory that is now the State of Delaware was for many years merely a group of European settlements located to the west of the
lower Delaware River and its bay. For most of its settled period prior to the American Revolution this area was ruled from elsewhere. From 1631 the area
hosted a colony of the Dutch West India Company, which ran a small settlement called Swanendael until 1633, when the settlers were wiped out by
Indians. In 1638 a Swedish colony, New Sweden, was established at Fort Christina, the site of modern Wilmington. Swedish rule lasted until 1655, when Peter
Stuyvesant, the Dutch governor of New Amsterdam {now Manhattan} defeated the Swedes, but allowed them to remain in residence under Dutch rule. When, in
1664, the British defeated the Dutch in the New World, Charles II granted proprietary rights over all former Dutch territories to his brother, the
Duke of York. Under the Duke of York period, 1664-1682, the South River Area {the Dutch name for Delaware} was renamed the Colony of New-Castle. In 1681
Charles II gave a charter for Pennsylvania to William Penn. A year later Penn succeeded in having the area on the West Bank of the Delaware estuary
{then called the “Lower Counties on the Delaware”; i.e. New-Castle, Kent & Sussex} added to his grant. This gave Pennsylvania Colony a much coveted
direct access to the sea. Between 1682-1704 the Lower Counties were ruled from Philadelphia. However, in 1701 Penn granted the Lower Counties the right
to an independent General Assembly; although they continued to share a governor with Pennsylvania for the rest of the colonial period. The first
General Assembly was held at New-Castle in 1704, and the Lower Counties exercised this limited self-government from then until the American Revolution.
Since there were no printers in the Lower Counties at the time, the journals of its first assemblies were printed in Philadelphia by Benjamin Franklin,
the jurisdiction’s official printer from 1729 to 1760. In the latter year, James Adams, a printer, set up shop in Wilmington and became official
printer. In 1776 the Lower Counties comprised one of the original thirteen colonies declaring independence from England. At this point the unique colony, by
resolution of the Continental Congress, was officially fully severed from Pennsylvania and named “Delaware”. The first state constitution was adopted
in 1776, with one of its provisions being the establishment of a legislature with two chambers, the House of Assembly and The Council; later the
Senate. In 1777 the capital was moved from New-Castle to Dover, in Kent County because of that settlement’s more central location, and also because it was
felt to be safer from British raiders plying the Delaware River.)(The Early State Records were digitized from a microfilm copy of title originally
held by the Public Archives Commissions in Dover, Delaware).
Title:   Journal of the Senate : reformatted from the original and including, Votes and proceedings of the Legislative Council ...
OCLC Number:   933303996
Available Volumes
NameFiche CountOnlinePaper Backup
1782 Oct. 20-Nov. 1, Reg. sess. (MS)YesNo
1782 Oct. 20-Nov. 1, Reg. sess. (MS),c.2YesNo
1783 Oct. 20-Nov. 15, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1783 Oct. 20-Nov. 15, Adj. sess.YesNo
1784 Jan. 5-13, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1784 Jan. 5-13, Adj. sess.YesNo
1784 Mar. 29-Apr. 9, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1784 Mar. 29-Apr. 9, Adj. sess.YesNo
1784 May 24-June 26 (MS)YesNo
1784 May 24-June 26, Adj. sess.YesNo
1784 Oct. 20-31, Reg. sess. (MS)YesNo
1784 Oct. 20-30, Reg. sess.YesNo
1785 Jan. 3-Feb. 5, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1785 Jan. 3-Feb. 5, Adj. sess.YesNo
1785 May 16-June 6, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1785 May 16-June 6, Adj. sess.YesNo
1785 Oct. 20-Nov. 5, Reg. sess.YesNo
1786 Jan. 3-Feb. 3, Adj. sess.YesNo
1786 May 29-June 24 , Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1786 May 29-June 24 , Adj. sess.YesNo
1786 Oct. 20-28, Reg. sess. (MS)YesNo
1786 Oct. 20-28, Reg. sess.YesNo
1787 Jan. 9-Feb. 6, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1787 Jan. 9-Feb. 6, Adj. sess.YesNo
1787 May 28-June 9, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1787 May 28-June 9, Adj. sess.YesNo
1787 Aug. 27-31, Spec. sess. (MS)YesNo
1787 Aug. 27-31, Spec. sess.YesNo
1787 Oct. 20-Nov. 11, Reg. sess. (MS)YesNo
1787 Oct. 20-Nov. 11, Reg. sess.YesNo
1788 Oct. 20-28, Reg. sess. (MS)YesNo
1788 Oct. 20-28, Reg. sess. (MS), c.2 (inc.)YesNo
1789 Jan. 12-Feb. 4, Adj. sess. (MS)YesNo
1789 Feb. 4 (Typescript)YesNo
1789 May 26-June 5, Call sess. (MS)YesNo
1789 May 26-June 5, Call sess. (Typescript)YesNo
1789 Oct. 20-24 (Typescript)YesNo
1790 Jan. 4-29 (MS)YesNo
1790 Jan. 4-29, Adj. sess. (MS), c.2YesNo
1790 Oct. 20-26 (MS)YesNo
1790 Oct. 20-26, Reg. sess. (MS), c.2YesNo
1791 Jan. 4-27 (MS)YesNo
1791 Jan. 4-29, Adj. sess. (MS), c.2YesNo
1792 Nov. 1-3, Call. sess.YesNo
1793 Jan. 1-Feb. 2, Reg. sess.YesNo
1793 May 27-June 19, Call. sess.YesNo
1794 Jan. 7-Feb. 8, Reg. sess.YesNo
1795 Jan. 6-Feb. 7, Reg. sess.YesNo
1796 Jan. 5-Feb. 10, Reg. sess.YesNo
1796 Nov. 9-11, Call. sess.YesNo
1797 Jan. 3-24, Reg. sess.YesNo
1798 Jan. 2-27, Reg. sess.YesNo
1875 JanYesNo
1877 JanYesNo
1883 JanYesNo
1855 JanYesNo
1887 JanYesNo
1889 JanYesNo
1891 JanYesNo
1893 JanYesNo
1895 JanYesNo
1897 JanYesNo
1899 JanYesNo
1901 JanYesNo
1903 JanYesNo
1904 Dec Sp SessYesNo
1905 JanYesNo
1906 May Sp SessYesNo
1907 JanYesNo
1909 JanYesNo
1909 June Sp SessYesNo
1911 JanYesNo
1913 JanYesNo
1915 JanYesNo
1917 JanYesNo
1918 Mar Sp SessYesNo
1919 JanYesNo
1920 Mar Sp SessYesNo
1921 JanYesNo
1923 JanYesNo
1925 JanYesNo
1927 JanYesNo
1929 JanYesNo
1931 JanYesNo
1932 Nov Sp SessYesNo
1933 JanYesNo
1933 Sp Sess & Session(s) IndexYesNo
1933 Oct Sp SessYesNo
1934 Oct Sp SessYesNo
1935 JanYesNo
1935 Dec Ex SessYesNo
1936 Dec Sp SessYesNo
1937 JanYesNo
1937 May Sp SessYesNo
1938 Dec - 1939 Jan Ex SessYesNo
1939 JanYesNo
1941 JanYesNo
1943 JanYesNo
1944 Mar Sp SessYesNo
1945 JanYesNo
1946 Jan Sp SessYesNo
1947 JanYesNo
1949 JanYesNo
1949 Sept Sp SessYesNo
1949 Nov 2d Sp SessYesNo
1949 Dec 3d Sp SessYesNo
1949 Consolidated Indexes for Senate & House Sp SeYesNo
1951 JanYesNo
1951 Dec - 1952 Jan Sp SessYesNo
1953 JanYesNo
1955 JanYesNo
1957 JanYesNo
1959 JanYesNo
1961 JanYesNo
1963 JanYesNo
1965 JanYesNo
1967 JanYesNo
1969 JanYesNo
1971 JanYesNo
1973 JanYesNo
1975 JanYesNo
1977 JanYesNo
1979 Jan - 1980 Jan YesNo