logo mail   mail  (651) 217-8116
A 501 (c)(3) nonprofit committed to ‘saving the law’
Description and Holding Information
1704, Delaware Colony/State, Jrnls. of the Gen. Assembly/House
Journal of the General Assembly/House of Assembly, of Delaware, 1704-, Philadelphia/Wilmington, var. official printers, 1704-. (The name “Delaware”
was first given to the river of that name and its bay on the Atlantic. It was derived from the honorific of Thomas West, 3rd Baron De La Ware, an
English nobleman and Virginia’s first colonial governor. The territory that is now the State of Delaware was for many years merely a group of European
settlements located to the west of the lower Delaware River and its bay. For most of its settled period prior to the American Revolution this area was
ruled from elsewhere. From 1631 the area hosted a colony of the Dutch West India Company, which ran a small settlement called Swanendael until 1633, when
the settlers were wiped out by Indians. In 1638 a Swedish colony, New Sweden, was established at Fort Christina, the site of modern Wilmington.
Swedish rule lasted until 1655, when Peter Stuyvesant, the Dutch governor of New Amsterdam {now Manhattan} defeated the Swedes, but allowed them to remain
in residence under Dutch rule. When, in 1664, the British defeated the Dutch in the New World, Charles II granted proprietary rights over all former
Dutch territories to his brother, the Duke of York. Under the Duke of York period, 1664-1682, the South River Area {the Dutch name for Delaware} was
renamed the Colony of New-Castle. In 1681 Charles II gave a charter for Pennsylvania to William Penn. A year later Penn succeeded in having the area on
the West Bank of the Delaware estuary {then called the “Lower Counties on the Delaware”; i.e. New-Castle, Kent & Sussex} added to his grant. This gave
Pennsylvania Colony a much coveted direct access to the sea. Between 1682-1704 the Lower Counties were ruled from Philadelphia. However, in 1701Penn
granted the Lower Counties the right to an independent General Assembly; although they continued to share a governor with Pennsylvania for the rest of
the colonial period. The first General Assembly was held at New-Castle in 1704, and the Lower Counties exercised this limited self-government from
then until the American Revolution. Since there were no printers in the Lower Counties at the time, the journals of its first assemblies were printed in
Philadelphia by Benjamin Franklin, the jurisdiction’s official printer from 1729 to 1760. In the latter year, James Adams, a printer, set up shop in
Wilmington and became official printer. In 1776 the Lower Counties comprised one of the original thirteen colonies declaring independence from
England. At this point the unique colony, by resolution of the Continental Congress, was officially fully severed from Pennsylvania and named “Delaware”. The
first state constitution was adopted in 1776, with one of its provisions being the establishment of a legislature with two chambers, the House of
Assembly and The Council; later the Senate. In 1777 the capital was moved from New-Castle to Dover, in Kent County because of that settlement’s more
central location, and also because it was felt to be safer from British raiders plying the Delaware River.)
Title:   Journal of the House : reformatted from the original and including, Votes and proceedings of the House of Assembly of the Delaware State ...
OCLC Number:   933302293
Available Volumes
NameFiche CountOnlinePaper Backup
1739 Apr. 5-Oct. 24 (MS)YesNo
1740 Aug. 6-1741 Mar. 13 (MS)YesNo
1782 Oct. 21- Nov. 1, Reg. sess.YesNo
1783 Jan. 6-Feb. 8, Adj. sess.YesNo
1783 May 26-31, Adj. sess.YesNo
1791 Oct. 20-26, Reg. sess.YesNo
1875 JanYesNo
1878 JanYesNo
1881 JanYesNo
1883 JanYesNo
1885 JanYesNo
1887 JanYesNo
1889 JanYesNo
1891 JanYesNo
1893 JanYesNo
1895 JanYesNo
1897 JanYesNo
1904 Dec Sp SessYesNo
1905 JanYesNo
1906 May Sp SessYesNo
1907 JanYesNo
1909 JanYesNo
1911 JanYesNo
1913 JanYesNo
1915 JanYesNo
1917 JanYesNo
1918 Mar Sp SessYesNo
1919 JanYesNo
1920 Mar Sp SessYesNo
1921 JanYesNo
1923 JanYesNo
1925 JanYesNo
1927 JanYesNo
1929 JanYesNo
1931 JanYesNo
1932 Nov Sp SessYesNo
1933 JanYesNo
1933 Oct Sp SessYesNo
1934 Oct Sp SessYesNo
1935 JanYesNo
1936 Dec Sp SessYesNo
1937 JanYesNo
1937 May Sp SessYesNo
1939 JanYesNo
1941 JanYesNo
1943 JanYesNo
1944 Mar Sp SessYesNo
1945 JanYesNo
1947 JanYesNo
1949 JanYesNo
1949 Sept Sp SessYesNo
1949 Nov 2d Sp SessYesNo
1949 Consolidated Indexes for Senate & House Sp SeYesNo
1951 JanYesNo
1951 Dec Sp SessYesNo
1953 JanYesNo
1955 JanYesNo
1957 JanYesNo
1959 JanYesNo
1961 JanYesNo
1965 JanYesNo
1967 JanYesNo
1969 JanYesNo
1971 JanYesNo
1973 JanYesNo
1975 JanYesNo
1977 Jan Sp Sessions - 1978 Jan & Sp Sessions (AllYesNo
1979 JanYesNo
1980 JanYesNo
1981 Jan & Sp Sess(s) - 1982 Jan & Sp SessYesNo
1983 Jan - Nov Sp Sess(s) - 1984 Jan - July Sp SesYesNo
1985 Jan - Aug Sp Sess(s) & 1986 Jan - July Sp SesYesNo