

The LLMC Digital Newsletter Issue 7

Issue 72, October 2022

Report on Annual Members Meeting

LLMC's 45th Annual Members Meeting was held on July 15 in Denver. Key items on the Agenda: Board approved 3% increase in LLMC membership rates effective in 2023; Early State Records (ESR), CMR and MA Register, more Records and Briefs; Indigenous Law and RIGHTS! Portals; expanding foreign coverage (175 countries, 68 languages): Canada, United Kingdom, Latin America, Germany, Caribbean, Africa, Eastern Europe and Russia. Also, partner updates, including Google, AfricanLII, and Library of Congress. The principal business of the annual meeting was elections for LLMC's two governing bodies, our Board of Directors and Advisory Council. Voting rights for delegates reflected each library's subscription status relative to LLMC Digital.

Elections 2022

In the Board of Directors election, two four-year slots were open due to the expired terms of Richard Amelung, Prof.Emer., Saint Louis U.L.L., and Beth Williams, Dir., Stanford U.L.L. The Board nominated Lucy Curci-Gonzalez, Exec Dir, NYLI and also nominated Beth to serve another term, especially in recognition of her experience as Chair of the Finance Committee and role leading the Technology Taskforce. The Board awarded Richard with Director Emeritus status in gratitude for 15 years' of consequential service as its Chair of the Board of Directors! Anne Matthewman, Dir., Dalhousie was elected by the Board to be the next Chair. Ronald Wheeler, Dir., Boston U.L.L. was invited by the Board to serve the remainder of David Gee's term due to his retirement. Board nominees were elected by electronic ballot.

In the Advisory Council elections, four councilors' terms expired. Two were nominated to serve another term and reelected by electronic ballot: Jolande Goldberg, Sen.Cat.-Policy Spec., Library of Congress and Sara Sampson, Dir, The Ohio State U.LL. In addition, the Board nominated Kincaid Brown Director, University of Michigan L.L., Helen Garner Bodleian Law Librarian, Oxford University. Board nominees were elected by electronic ballot. Our full leadership for 2022/23 appears below. We extend our sincere appreciation to the former councilors – Kent Olson and Michelle Pearse -- who have contributed their time and expertise as they have been instrumental in providing important content, counsel, and oversight to LLMC over the years. Our grateful congratulations to all the new incumbents. All of us have already benefited so much, and will no doubt continue to benefit, from the willingness of our colleagues to serve!

LLMC's Leaders in 2022/23

(Final year for each term follows the name)

Board of Directors:

Lucy Curci-Gonzalez Exec.Dir., New York Law Institute (2026) James Duggan Dir., Tulane U.L.L. (2024) Lyonette Louis-Jacques For. & Int'l Law Libn., U. Chicago L.L. (2023) Anne Matthewman (Chair) Dir., Dalhousie U.L.L. (2025) Kathleen Richman LLMC Exec. Dir. (ex officio) Judith Russell Dean, U. Florida Libraries (2025) Ron Wheeler Dir., Boston U.L.L. (2024) Beth Williams Dir., Stanford U.L.L. (2026) Suzanne Young Libr. Services Mngr., Jones Day (2023)

Director Emeriti:

Barbara Garavaglia Dir., U. Mich. L.L. Richard Amelung Prof.Emer., Saint Louis U.L.L.

Advisory Council:

Kincaid Brown, Dir., Univ of Michigan L.L. (2025) Alex Burdett Libn., University of Victoria (2023) Femi Cadmus Dir., Yale U.L.L.(2024) Glen Dickenson Dir., Iowa Leg. Serv. Ag. (2023) Yemisi Dina Chief Law Libn., Osgoode Hall (2024) Jonathan Franklin Assoc. Dean U. Wash. L.L (2024) Helen Garner, Bodleian Law Libn., Oxford U. (2025) Jolande Goldberg Sen. Cat.-Policy Spec., LC (2025) Mary Hemmings Dir., Thompson Riv. U.L.L.(2023) Marci Hoffman Assoc. Dir U. Cal-Berkeley L.L. (2024) Linda Maslow Libn., U.S. Supreme Court L. (2023) Teresa Miguel-Stearns Dir, U Arizona L.L. (2024) Sara Sampson Dir., The Ohio State U.L.L. (2025) Richard Tuske Hd. Libn., N.Y.C. Bar L.L. (2024) Ivo Vogel International and Interdisciplinary Legal Research, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz (2023)

Jean Wenger Dir., Chicago-Kent L.L. (2023)